About Universitas Airlangga

Universitas Airlangga (UNAIR) was established on 10 November 1954. It has vision to become an independent, innovative, and leading university at national and international level as well as the pioneer of the development in science, technology, and humanities based on religious morality. There are four missions that Universitas Airlangga carries, such as: (1) Organizing and developing academic education, professional education, and/or vocational education with world class excellence based on nationalism and religious moral values; (2) Carrying out basic research, applied research, and innovative policy research with world-class excellence based on nationalism and religious moral values to support the development of education and to conduct community service; (3)Devoting its expertise in the field of science, technology, and humanities to the society; (4) Managing the university independently with good governance through institutional development oriented towards quality and ability to compete at international competence.

Universitas Airlangga has 3 campuses which are located in three strategic locations in Surabaya, Indonesia. Campus A, which consists of Faculty of Medicine and Faculty of Dentistry, has arrays of beautiful Dutch-built buildings and located right in front of the provincial hospital, Dr. Sutomo Hospital.

Campus B mainly consists of social science-based faculties, and Campus C which consists mainly of science-based faculties and also where the management building is located. In total, Universitas Airlangga has approximately 39 thousand students in all degrees.


Universitas Airlangga has 167 programs ranging from vocational, bachelor, master, and doctoral program, specialist programs and professional education.

Universitas Airlangga earns A qualification for Institutional Accreditation from Indonesian National Accreditation Board for Higher Education. In 2017, Universitas Airlangga has 90 programs accredited A, 6 programs accredited internationally, 9 study programs certified by AUN, and 1 study program accredited by ABEST.

For academic quality, Universitas Airlangga has several achievements. It gained excellence level which certified according to the standards ISO 9001:2015, MBNQA 2015-2016, and IWA 2:2007. In 2017, Universitas Airlangga is currently on 701-750 QS Ranking Worldwide, the 4th of QS Indonesia ranking, and the 10th based on Webometrics Indonesian Rank.


In total, Universitas Airlangga has 14 faculties which consist of Medicine, Dentistry, Law, Economics and Business, Pharmacy, Veterinary, Social and Political Sciences, Science and Technology, Public Health, Psychology, Humanities, Nursing, Fisheries and Marine, Vocations, and School of Postgraduate.


Academic Facilities: Universitas Airlangga Hospital (RSUA), Tropical Infection Hospital, Universitas Airlangga Dental and Oral Hospital, Universitas Airlangga Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Research Facilities: Research And Innovation Institute (LPI), Institute of 0f Tropical Disease, Community Development Institute (LPM), Stem Cell Research and Development Center.

International cooperation and collaboration

Universitas Airlangga has a vast network of partnerships at both national and international levels. At international level, currently there are 89 institutions having active partnerships with Universitas Airlangga, comprising of more than 65 partnerships with institutions from Asia Pacific and the rest with institutions from America and Europe.

For its global networks, Universitas Airlangga is involved in 8 collaborations, they are: AUN, ASAIHL, AUAP, Erasmus+, ASEAN Committee on Science & Technology, SATU Presidents’s Forum, ASEA-UNINET, and EPI-UNET. The partnerships take many forms such as human resource recruitments, joint-research, student, lecturer and staff exchanges, double degrees, and many other kinds of mutual collaborations.

Learn more about us